Visiting the Maryland Athletic Club – Harbor East

My family recently returned from a wonderful visit to Maryland. We were blessed with sunny weather and 70 degrees during our stay. We had the good fortune of staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Baltimore, a suitable place for families in a prime location.

As hotel guests, we had access to the luxurious Maryland Athletic Club (MAC). There were four different pools at various temperatures and beautiful state of the art equipment and facilities. MAC provided not only an area to exercise but a commitment to wellness through course offerings and their spa. I was so impressed that I even got my butt out of bed at 7:00 a.m. to attend a yoga fusion class. That is huge for me. While I like to work out on vacation, it rarely happens that early in the day, especially after a few wines the night before 😉

The only downside to our experience at the MAC was the women staffing the front desk and pool last Wednesday and Thursday. As non-members, my family and presumably other hotel guests were treated like second class citizens. Oh and then again on last Saturday morning by the woman at the front desk. It was really unfortunate since we otherwise had a lovely time at the MAC. I´m keeping my fingers crossed that if we do visit again that the interactions with staff are friendlier since it is otherwise an amazing place to exercise and unwind. I definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the area, it is deserving of a three and a half Om star rating.

Leave a Reply

